Foundation series

Patient Safety Movement Foundation Announces 2021 Humanitarian and Lewis Blackman Award Recipients

Irvine, California, USA:

The Patient Safety Movement Foundation (PSMF), a global non-profit organization committed to achieving zero preventable patient deaths by 2030, announced the recipients of its 2021 Humanitarian and Lewis Blackman Awards at its 8th annual Global Safety Summit. Patient Safety, Science and Technology (WPSSTS). President Bill Clinton, the 42nd President of the United States, received the Joe Kiani Humanitarian Award, Javier Davila received the Beau Biden Humanitarian Award, and Jannicke Mellin-Olson received the Steven Moreau Humanitarian Award. The 2nd Annual Lewis Blackman Award was presented to Ingrid Bonilla.


“Achieving our mission of zero preventable patient deaths by 2030 depends on mobilizing people to create change,” said Michael Ramsay, MD, CEO of the Patient Safety Movement Foundation. “We are proud to recognize this year’s four winners for their individual efforts, leadership and commitment to improving patient safety globally.


The Humanitarian Awards recognize leaders who have made significant progress over the past year in eliminating or raising awareness of preventable patient deaths. This year, winners were honored in three categories: the Joe Kiani Award, the Beau Biden Award and the Steven Moreau Award. The Joe Kiani Award is named after the founder of the Patient Safety Movement Foundation and recognizes individuals who have committed themselves to the mission of the foundation. The Beau Biden Award was established in 2018 to honor Beau Biden, former Delaware Attorney General, member of the Army National Guard and late son of President Joe Biden, for his dedication to public service and the safety of others, especially children. The Steven Moreau Award is given annually to a hospital administrator who demonstrates zeal to improve patient safety in their hospital. This year’s recipients included:


  • President Bill Clinton, 42nd President of the United States, is a longtime supporter of patient safety. During his tenure, he was committed to expanding access to affordable, quality health care for all Americans. He received the first-ever Joe Kiani Award for his ongoing support of the Patient Safety Movement Foundation and his goal of achieving zero preventable medical deaths by 2030.
  • Javier DavilaPSMF ambassador to Mexico, former medical director of the Mexican Social Security Institute and responsible for medical education, research and public health policy, received the Beau Biden Award for his passion for public service and improving patient safety for others. Since joining PSMF, he has focused on promoting the culture of safety in Mexico and has helped establish affiliations with many prestigious public and private hospitals, as well as building relationships with many organizations to help advance the mission.
  • Jannicke Mellin-Olson, MD, DPH, has long been an advocate for patient safety. Her passion for patient safety began during her residency at Trondheim University Hospital in Norway, where she worked on a number of patient safety initiatives. She received the Steven Moreau Award for her continued efforts to spread the mission to stakeholders across Europe, as well as in her current clinical position at Baerum Hospital in Oslo, Norway.


The Lewis Blackman Leadership Award was established in 2020 to recognize active students or residents pursuing careers in healthcare who demonstrate exemplary patient safety leadership skills that contribute to PSMF’s vision of eliminating preventable medical harm. It was designed in honor of Lewis Blackman, who died on November 6, 2000 at the age of 15, following preventable medical harm in a health care setting with a poor safety culture and a inadequate training. Prior to his death, he was an outstanding student and his mother, Helen Haskell, became an advocate for improving patient safety, especially through education.


  • Ingrid Bonille, a fourth-year medical student at the Medical University of South Carolina, demonstrated an early commitment and passion for improving patient safety. During her medical school, she worked with renowned patient safety champions in South Carolina on new criteria to prevent central line infections, collected data on COVID-19 to determine how it is presents in children and how they should be treated and also focused on improving communication between patients, families and providers.


The Patient Safety Movement Foundation launched the Humanitarian Awards in 2013 to recognize individuals whose work helps advance patient safety and the Lewis Blackman Award was established in 2019. To learn more about the awards and past winners, visit: Lewis Blackman.


The full WPSSTS event is available on demand for $20 through May 9, 2022 at: or free after May 9 at:


About the Patient Safety Movement Foundation: The Patient Safety Movement Foundation (PSMF), a global non-profit organization founded in 2012, celebrates 10 years of raising awareness and creating action to eliminate preventable medical errors. Some estimates predict that one in 12 patients are affected by a preventable medical error, but this number could be even higher as there is no central database to track these numbers in most countries, including the United States. Over the past decade, significant progress has been made to improve patient safety, but the COVID-19 pandemic has strained the system and it has proven not to be resilient and has takes a step back. PSMF’s vision is to eliminate preventable patient harm and death globally by 2030 – and that starts with raising awareness of this critical issue. It unites patients, advocates, healthcare workers, medical technology companies, government, employers and private payers to support this cause. From its evidence-based best practice solutions (Actionable Patient Safety Solutions™) and industry open data commitment to its global summit on patient safety, science and technology and more, PSMF n won’t stop fighting until it reaches zero. For more information, please visit, and follow PSMF on LinkedIn, TwitterInstagram and Facebook.